Christmas 2012

 

As our second Christmas as a family of four, it was fun to keep the traditions we started last year.  Attending our church’s Christmas Eve service, eating dinner together, A and H opening their Christmas pjs, and going to sleep in our own beds, in our house, ready to wake up and open gifts the next morning.  This year, A understood Christmas a little better so he actually showed excitement the next morning.  H gets excited about anything that her brother is excited about.  Except when she doesn’t.  😉

After opening gifts and eating breakfast together, we packed up and headed to my parents (it was their year to have everyone there on Christmas day).  There we ate lunch, opened more gifts, and just enjoyed spending time together.  The next day, the girls (read my sisters, mom and I) escaped to do some after-Christmas shopping.  We all ended the day by enjoying a meal out (which is always, um, interesting, with 5 kids under 7) but our time together was short-lived as sickness struck both sisters and my mom ended up taking a trip to the emergency room for chest pains.  I was the only sister left standing, but after making sure everyone was ok (Mom included!), we headed home the following evening.

With the Christmas festivities all wrapped up, I turned my attention to the upcoming new year and all that it might bring.  A 2nd birthday for H and a 4th birthday for A.  Nine (!) years of marriage for D and me.  D and I getting closer and closer to the numbers 3-0. And the thought of accepting a placement!  Yes, I’ve been checked and I’m certifiably insane for wanting another placement when we already have two little ones.  I know that God’s timing in growing our family is perfect, so I’m not going crazy.  I trust that God will bring another little one when it’s time (if it’s in His plan).

About leslijean

Adoption. Jesus. My Hubby, D. Texas Football. Foster Care. Not necessarily in that order.

2 responses to “Christmas 2012

  1. Your family is so beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

